The Art of: Self Portraits

Today, a postal warrior trekked to my house to deliver my new Interfit stand. Joy! (My joy was crushed by a second postal warrior who brought a double bass for my brother. I could fit in the box it was so big. Outshone my little stand in an instant so I thought I’d share it with you guys.) Now, my lovely stand is hardly glamorous, but a total necessity when you need a second pair of hands, particularly for self portraits. I’m pretty sure my brother is sick of holding my massive reflector at this stage, but it’s also irritating when I want to try a simple shot at home and can’t do it without help.

There she is, in all her standy glory.

The delivery got me thinking about the self portraits and outfit posts I’ve planned to include in my thesis project. I’ve been holding out on starting them until next semester, which is giving me a little bit of time to research and plan – essential – and make my life easier by acquiring cheap hands like my stand and reflector.

Okay, so I know I’m looking at this from a photography perspective, but how do you guys plan your self portraits and outfit shots?

What is your main objective – to show the outfit in all its glory or create an image similar to commercial/editorial magazine content?

What is it about self portraits that appeal to you so much?

I’m always curious about how other minds work when it comes to creative content like this. Personally, my answer is a mix of both. All I need to do now is quit stressing and put them online. A million other plus size girls do and they look incredible. Boo! Still, I love them. Viewing a self portrait is like a sneak peak inside your life, your wardrobe and your personality. Even if you use them as a way of projecting who you would like to be, is that really a bad thing? I don’t think so.

Here’s some favourites to get your creative juices flowing:

The Photographer: Miss Lulu & The Teaspoon Shortage aka Lucia Holm

This girl is incredible. Her Flickr profile was one of the first I found when I joined the site a few years back. I’ve been checking it weekly ever since. Apart from seriously crushing on Lucia’s hair, her self portraits are simple, clean, creative and incredibly well lit. The last image is my favourite.

Twitter || Model Mayhem || Lucia Holm Photography

The Blogger: Elsa Billgren – Need Help Dressing? (Swedish Elle)

I stumbled across an image of Elsa in a floral vintage dress on Lauren’s Tumblr (Lauren runs Pocket Rocket Fashion, a delicious plus size fashion blog) while I was researching curvy fashion for my thesis. Talk about crush at first sight. I think I’ve gone through all the archives on Elsa’s blog, which is hosted by Swedish Elle. The Swedish-to-English translations offered by Google are both hilarious and endearing, adding to Elsa’s alluring appeal. It wasn’t hard to fall in love with her cutesy demeanour, adorable apartment and lush collection of vintage dresses. She also likes cats. Win.


2 thoughts on “The Art of: Self Portraits

  1. Wow the second lady looks awesome! Jealous!!! Wish I could take photos like that… I am just terrible when it comes to my outfit posts…

Leave a Reply

